Format: CD/LP
Catalog Number: DG-35
Release Date: July 2010 (CD) / February 2012 (LP)
Purchase This Release
Now available on vinyl! With the band Screaming Females, Marissa Paternoster has been known to shred until her fingers bleed. But with her 5-year-old low- profile solo project Noun, Marissa dedicates less time to shrieking and soloing, and more to intricate studio work and lower-key instrumentation. Holy Hell, the first official Noun release, incorporates keys, organs, and toned-down guitars and drums. The result is clearly different than Screaming Females: it’s mellower, more melodic, and whereas the Screaming Females’ songwriting process is a three-way discussion, Marissa writes all of the songs for Noun. Holy Hell features drum work by Angela Boylan (of Cheeky), Miranda Taylor (Hunchback, Black Wine, Full of Fancy), and Jarrett Dougherty (Screaming Females), plus bass lines by King Mike (Screaming Females).
Mastered by Tom Ruff at Asbury Media

Artwork by Leslie Paternoster
Layout by Marissa Paternoster


1. Black Lamb
2. Outerspace
3. Old Friends
4. Holy Hell
5. Wrong Things
6. Call Earth
7. Pearly Gates
8. So Rough
9. Brother
10. Talk

Other Releases From Noun

Forgotten Grin
Throw Your Body On The Gears And Stop The Machine With Your Blood