Peter Stampfel and the Brooklyn & Lower Manhattan Banjo SquadronBetter Than Expected

On Better Than Expected, Stampfel further pushes the envelope, asking the question “How many banjos can play simultaneously without turning into musical slop?” He answers it with a psychedelic sixteen track album that is as beautiful as it is strange. The record also features an updated version of The Fugs’ “CIA Man” as “NSA Man.” Simply put, at 75 years old, Peter has managed to bring us one of the punkest most genuinely non-commercial records we’ve ever had the chance to release. Fuckin’ A man.

1. C Modal #1
2. NSA Man
3. G Tuning #3
4. Sukiyaki (Ue O Muite Arukō)
5. G Tuning #1
6. Eat That Roadkill
7. Vocal Excercise
8. C Modal Tuning Page 64
9. G Tuning #2
10. C Modal Tuning Page 77
11. C Modal Tuning Page 88
12. Castor And Pollux
13. C Modal Tuning Page 106
14. Theme For The Exodus From Bushwick To Ridgewood
15. C Modal Tuning Page 91
16. Group Improvisation

Release Credits
Artwork by Tony Millionaire