Byrds Of ParadiseTeenage Symphonies

At once filthy, dreamy, druggily intoxicating and soberingly intense, Brooklyn-based Byrds of Paradise churn out slop pop tunes wearing garage/psych/punk clothing that are as sweetly sticky as they are layered, noisy and driven. The band, started by D.C. expatriate Kenny Brown in late 2009, is clearly informed by classic D.C. punk sonics, although not defined by them. That winter, Brown left D.C. to return to his New Jersey home and dedicate several weeks to recording a long- planned demo with his dear old friend and now singer Jared J Jones, ex-Dustheads). Brown then relocated to Brooklyn, where a full band came together with Alan Yuch (ex-Mongoloids) on drums and Brenden Britz playing bass. Byrds of Paradise released their debut “Rowena” 7” on Wild Words records, followed by their Don Giovanni Records debut, the “Omega Man” 7” and their most recent 7”, “Barefoot Paradise”, on UK label Sleep All Day Records.

Catalog Number


Release Date

January 15, 2011

1 Mothlight
2 Touch Tunnel
3 Honey Trap
4 Spring
5 Paradise, DC
6 Up and Around
7 Broadcast News
8 Floating Cross
9 Zig Zag
10 Boys Town

Release Credits
Recorded by Ben Greenberg at Python Patrol Studio
Mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering

Artwork by Adam Putnam
Layout by Jared J Jones

Other Releases