Moor x JewelryCrime Waves

Crime Waves is a collaboration between Philadelphia-producers Moor Mother and Mental Jewelry. The EP features six tracks recorded during a session at Philadelphia’s Kawari. The music speaks about systematic violence and racism. From a productions standpoint, these songs bridge avant-classical sounds with modern broken beat/sample based technologies and live instrumentation implemented via laptop. “Two of these tracks – “Hardware” and “Death Booming” – were meant for Fetish Bones but I couldn’t get them to sound how I wanted,” writes Moor Mother. “I really loved Mental Jewelry’s production though, so I suggested that we make an EP. We had bonded over free jazz, drum and bass, and heavy dub – we just spent hours talking about music before we even recorded a track.” Moor Mother’s debut album Fetish Bones was named one of the top experimental albums of the year by Rolling Stone and Pitchfork as well as one of the best albums of the year by The Wire and she was named Artist of the Year 2016 by Bandcamp.

01. Hardware
02. Death Booming
03. Matter of Time
04. Streets Dept.
05. The City
06. Big Crime

Release Credits
Moor Jewelry is a collaboration between vocalist Moor Mother and producer Mental Jewelry.

Pressing Information
500 copies