Modern HutGeneric Treasure

Generic Treasure is meticulously detailed, eleven tracks of acoustic guitar marked by Joe’s distinct monotone drawl and lyrics, unraveling boredom and inner-confusions, delivered in sing-song melodies and rhymes that maintain a sense of humor about it all. “History” is a smart but disillusioned criticism of modern life: “People were writing their own history / nothing was left to mystery / everything was planned / it all felt like a scam.” “Life” is balanced by alternating verses with Marissa Paternoster on vocals. “I’m not proud of the things I’ve done in my life / But that’s alright, ‘cause I will die.” The sentiment can seem either depressing as hell or rather inspired. Marissa produced this record and it includes a re-imagined version of “Just Pray” from For Science’s Way Outta Control.

1. Mid Tempo
2. Just Pray
3. History
4. Life
5. Heart
6. Time
7. Louis St.
8. America
9. Gone
10. Wrong
11. Moving On

Release Credits
Produced by Marissa Paternoster

Recorded at various places and various times by Bruce Hyde and Nick Bullock and Marissa Paternoster and Chris Pierce.

Artwork by Jared Jones