SammusPieces In Space

Pieces in Space is the Don Giovanni Records debut LP from Ithaca, NY rapper/producer Sammus. Recorded at Ampliphonic Studios with Sosa – the audio engineer behind projects from Homeboy Sandman, Aesop Rock, and Kemba, among others – the album weaves raw confessions, pro-weirdo anthems, and clever musings on modern life into a unique story about black womanhood. The sound of Pieces is just as eclectic as its story: Sammus’ production swings from laid-back and melodic to bright and bouncy. While her flow is just as varied, it’s her unrelenting urgency that ties Pieces together.

Armed with guest appearances from rap legends Jean Grae, Homeboy Sandman, and Open Mike Eagle, her Don Giovanni labelmate Izzy True, as well as Brooklyn up-and-comer Latasha Alcindor, this project aims to establish Sammus as one of the great MCs, beat makers, and thinkers of this politically charged moment.

includes a digital download of "Pieces in Space" w/ the option to purchase as a special blue vinyl or CD, a signed "Rhymes + Reasons" booklet with lyrics and explanations for each song, a limited edition "Pieces in Space" T-shirt w/ original artwork from Sammus in XS-M, and a "Pieces in Space" pin + sticker

Catalog Number


Release Date

October 28, 2016

1. 100 Percent (feat. Latasha Alcindor aka L.A.)
2. Comments Disabled
3. Childhood
4. Cubicle (feat. Alex Attard)
5. Perfect, Dark
6. Weirdo (feat. Homeboy Sandman)
7. Song About Sex
8. Headliner
9. Nighttime (feat. Izzy True)
10. 1080p (feat. Jean Grae)
11. Genius
12. Qualified (feat. Open Mike Eagle and Arch Thompson)

Release Credits
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Alejandro “Sosa” Tello Jr.
Ampliphonic Studios | Queens, NY

Cover artwork by Benjamin Torrey

All words written and performed by Enongo Lumumba-Kasongo
Additional verses written and performed as follows:
Latasha Alcindor aka LA on “100 Percent”
Homeboy Sandman on “Weirdo”
Jean Grae on “1080p”
Open Mike Eagle on “Qualified”

Additional vocals on “Nighttime” performed by Isabel Reidy

Music produced by Enongo Lumumba-Kasongo
Additional instrumentation as follows:
Jake Falby (violin) on “Childhood”
Alex Attard (saxophone) on “Cubicle”
Arch Thompson (flute) on “Qualified”