ZenizenAustralia (Deluxe)

Zenizen was created by Opal Hoyt who was born in Alaska and raised between Vermont, Jamaica, Washington DC and Brooklyn. She found herself infatuated with writing songs and creating musical landscapes with an emphasis on all things soulful. Minnie Riperton, Mariah Carey, London Nu-jazz is where she came from and ended up. Since heading to Australia for the second time to write/record the band’s debut EP, she has been back in New York simultaneously playing shows and working on the band’s ‘vaguely seasonal’ full-length. The band has shared stages with Tiffany Gouche, Anna Wise, Teklife, Norvis Junior, Sammus and more–blurring genre lines and liking it that way but always committed to modern psychedelia, poetry, and groove.”

Catalog Number


Release Date

October 20, 2017

1. Follow The Leader
2. Expanding
3. Nicer There
4. Follow The Leader (DJ Bruce Mix)
5. Follow The Leader (Vulture Street Tape Gang Mix)
6. Expanding (Suzi Analogue Mix)
7. Nicer There (Black Spade Mix)

Release Credits
The deluxe vinyl includes original songs written in Melbourne/Brisbane by Opal Hoyt, and remixes from DJ Bruce, Vulture Street Tape Gang, Suzi Analogue (Never Normal) and Black Spade (Vibe Music Collective). The EP was recorded and mixed in Preston, VIC at The Bank w/ Liam Barton with additional mixing in Brooklyn, NY by BENAMIN.

Pressing Information
Limited to 300 copies.