Laura Stevenson

Laura Stevenson "Wheel" 12"

Regular price $23.99

Wheel features strings by Grammy award winning violinist Rob Moose (Bon Iver, Antony And The Johnsons), brass accompaniment from Kelly Pratt (Beirut, Arcade Fire, David Byrne and St. Vincent), and was produced and mixed by Kevin McMahon (Swans, Titus Andronicus, Frightened Rabbit, Real Estate). Laura Stevenson was born and raised on Long Island with music in her blood. Her grandfather Harry Simeone a successful composer (“Little Drummer Boy”, “Do You Hear What I hear”) and her grandmother Margaret McCravy a singer for bandleader Benny Goodman. On Wheel she pours geography and heritage into the record, tackling family dynamics of dependence and support, and the feelings of isolation and insignificance that she has experienced while growing up surrounded by a vast body of water on a planet surrounded by an endlessly expanding universe. The album is also about coming to terms with these relationships and feelings, as well as her own and other’s mortality. Many of the lyrics on the album explore these themes before coming back to an understanding and acceptance of our place in the world, the short time we will spend here, and the people we end up sharing it with.

1. Renée
2. Triangle
3. Runner
4. Every Tense
5. Bells & Whistles
6. Sink, Swim
7. The Hole
8. Eleonora
9. The Move
10. Journey To The Center Of The Earth
11. Telluride
12. L-Dopa
13. The Wheel

Produced, engineered and mixed by Kevin McMahon in summer and fall of 2012 at Marcata Recording in New Paltz, NY
Additional recording by Peter Naddeo, Kelly Pratt, and Jeff Rosenstock
Mastered by Jamal Ruhe at West West Side Music
All songs written by Laura Stevenson
All songs arranged by Alex Billig, Mike Campbell, Dave Garwacke, Peter Naddeo and Laura Stevenson
String arrangements by Rob Moose

Shipping Details
Usually ships in 1 business days. This may be affected by holidays, promotions, local weather, etc.