model home

model home "both feet en th infinite" 12"

Regular price $23.99

"The two musicians mutually agree to disappear the false boundary between producer and speaker."
– Pitchfork

"A messy and unblinking improvisational blurt that quickly becomes dense and confusing, even though reality itself is often incredibly confusing and overwhelmingly dense, and perhaps that’s the fundamental idea radiating from every spontaneous noise-blot ever made by this District duo"
– The Washington Post

"Together, they’ve created an unselfish world where each member has room to breathe within their far-out experiments in liberated sound, vision, and performance."
– Bandcamp

On its Don Giovanni Records debut, both feet en th infinite, model home walk a balance between a polished studio effort and the energy of their live experiments in expression. The Washington, D.C. duo’s work employs a freewheelin’ and improvisational approach to communicate their ideas. Their single-take gonzo mind-melds currently span 19 Bandcamp-only transmissions, a compilation album, one full-length LP, and numerous mixtapes. As a whole their catalog forms a sonic journal, unfiltered, immediate, and frequently expanded.

both feet en th infinite sees the duo under the microscope of a professional studio (Tonal Park), a process that allows them an opportunity to enhance fine details that might slide out of view amid blown-out basement recordings. Clarity has not made them any less weird. The takes are alive with a new meditative focus, while not losing the mutant decadence of previous efforts. The sound is akin to David Tudor meeting African Head Charge with an 808 and a rapper, spilling groove over industrial experimentalism.

On these sessions model home’s core duo – Nappy Nappa (voice) and p cain (electronics) – are augmented by producer and Future Times label-founder, Andrew Field-Pickering (Dolo Percussion, Max D), whose obliquely funky rhythm tracks set a solid foundation for the group to spill alien logic. The 7 songs presented here were captured with the goal of creating a record that could be replicated on stage, they reflect this with live and direct frankness. A communal energy permeates the release with gatefold art work by Maya Miller (Double Leopards), cover art and design by Meghan Raham (woozy) and sonic contributions from a who’s who of contemporary DMV heads – dreamcastmoe, Awad Bilal (Too Free), Luke Stewart (Irreversible Entanglements), Bubbie, and Rob Stokes. The album was recorded and engineered with Mike Petillo (U-Udios, Geo Rip) at the controls routing the fray onto the mixing board.

model home create and document their music at an intimidating pace. Amid that flood of noise and energy there are moments that have marked a refinement of technique or a shift in currents. Last year’s album SE was one, as was the compilation One Year. both feet en th infinite is another. Its newfound stillness and gridded percussion are an extension of Cain, Nappa, and Field-Pickering's previous work and also an evolution in vision, expanding the possibilities of communication in the moment. It’s a set that pulls double duty as a brain-breaking koan and an outer-limits party record.

1. Night Break
2. Body Power
3. 3D Printed Quinoa
4. 6 Piece w/ Mumbo Sauce on Erry'thing
5. Crux of et All
6. Unbroken Spirits
7. Ambition

Shipping Details
Usually ships in 1 business days. This may be affected by holidays, promotions, local weather, etc.